- Italian Grand Prix
Alguersuari surprised at penalty
Jaime Alguersuari said he was more than a little surprised to receive a drive-through penalty for cutting a chicane during the Italian Grand Prix.
The Toro Rosso driver eventually finished 15th and although the penalty had no effect on the outcome of his race, he was still annoyed by the ruling.
"I am pleased with my actual performance in terms of lap times and race pace and the fact I made no mistakes," said Alguersuari. "However, at the moment, I really don't understand why I got the drive-through penalty. It's the second time in two races that I have got one of these! As far as I am concerned, although I did cut the chicane, I did not gain any advantage, catch the drivers ahead of me or pull away from those behind.
"The actual penalty did not make much difference to my race, but it was annoying all the same."
© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.
Products you might like at espnshop.co.uk